Introducing the Institutional Challenge Grant Selection Committee

We are pleased to announce the Institutional Challenge Grant Selection Committee, a distinguished group of individuals who are deeply committed to advancing the work of research-practice partnerships, creating institutional change, and reducing inequality in youth outcomes.

Launched in 2017, the Institutional Challenge Grant program encourages research institutions to build sustained research-practice partnerships with public agencies or nonprofit organizations in order to reduce inequality in youth outcomes.

Each member brings unique experiences and expertise to the Selection Committee, and we greatly value and appreciate their assistance in launching the Institutional Challenge Grant program.

Institutional Challenge Grant Selection Committee

Maria Cancian
Selection Committee Chair
Professor of Public Affairs and Social Work, and affiliate and former Director of the Institute for Research on Poverty
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Elaine Allensworth
Lewis-Sebring Director of the Consortium on School Research
University of Chicago

Marc Atkins
Professor of Psychiatry and Psychology and Director of the Institute for Juvenile Research
University of Illinois at Chicago

Allison Blake
New Jersey Department of Children and Families

Adam Gamoran
William T. Grant Foundation

Michael Gottfredson
Professor, Criminology, Law & Society
University of California Irvine

Ritu Khanna
Chief of Research, Planning, and Assessment
San Francisco Unified School District

Sumie Okazaki
Professor of Counseling Psychology
New York University

Pedro Reyes
Ashbel Smith Professor of Education Policy
University of Texas at Austin

Estelle Richman
Former Chief Operating Officer
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Robert Sellers
Vice Provost for Equity and Inclusion, Chief Diversity Officer, and Charles D. Moody Collegiate Professor of Psychology and Education
University of Michigan