William T. Grant Foundation Announces 2018 Scholars Finalists

We are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2018 William T. Grant Scholars Program. These 10 early-career researchers were selected from a pool of 63 applicants after a rigorous review by our staff and Selection Committee.

Vivian Tseng, senior vice president of program, said of the finalists, “This year’s finalists are an exciting group of early-career researchers who are bringing the best of research to tackle the pressing problems of inequality facing young people in our nation.”

Applicants for the Scholars Program propose five-year research and mentoring plans designed to expand their skills and knowledge. Applicants are nominated by their institutions, and only one applicant can be named from any one major division (e.g., College of Arts and Sciences, medical school, etc.). Nominating institutions must formally agree to support the applicant’s research goals with sufficient resources during the grant period, so the nomination reflects the institution’s serious commitment to the applicant and his or her career.

The ten finalists will be interviewed in February 2018 and four to six Scholars will be announced in March. Selected Scholars will each receive $350,000 over five years and participate in annual meetings. The Scholars Program began in 1982 and has a rich history of supporting the development of early-career researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences.

The 2018 William T. Grant Scholars finalists are:

  • Adukia Anjali, Ph.D., School of Public Policy, University of Chicago
  • Rachel Farr, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, University of Kentucky
  • Mark Hatzenbuehler, Ph.D., Department of Sociomedical Sciences, Columbia University
  • Camelia Hostinar, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, University of California, Davis
  • Simone Ispa-Landa, Ph.D., Department of Human Development and Social Policy, Northwestern University
  • Joscha Legewie, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, Yale University
  • Ellis Monk, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, Princeton University
  • Emily Rauscher, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, University of Kansas
  • Daniel Schneider, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, University of California, Berkeley
  • Pamela Wisniewski, Ph.D., Department of Computer Science, University of Central Florida