William T. Grant Foundation Announces Scholars Finalists

We are pleased to announce this year’s finalists for the William T. Grant Scholars Program. These 11 early-career researchers were selected from a pool of 51 applicants after a rigorous review by our staff and Selection Committee.

Vivian Tseng, vice president, program, said of the finalists, “Every year we meet a new cohort of strong, smart, and committed researchers, and 2017 is no different. We are very fortunate this year to have a diverse pool of applicants that are willing to tackle important questions that will advance theory, policy, and practice for youth. The finalists each show great promise for advancing their respective fields in significant ways.”

Applicants for the Scholars Program propose five-year research and mentoring plans designed to expand their skills and knowledge in a new discipline, content area, or method. Applicants are nominated by their institutions and only one applicant can be named from any one major division (e.g., College of Arts and Sciences, medical school, etc.). Nominating institutions must formally agree to support the applicant’s research goals with sufficient resources during the grant period, so the nomination reflects the institution’s serious commitment to the applicant and his or her career.

The 11 finalists will be interviewed in February 2017 and four to six Scholars will be announced in March. Selected Scholars will each receive $350,000 over five years and participate in annual meetings. The Scholars Program began in 1982 and has a rich history of supporting the development of early-career researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences.

The 2017 William T. Grant Scholars finalists are:

• Robin Everhart, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, Virginia Commonwealth University
• Terri Friedline Ph.D., School of Social Welfare, University of Kansas
• Jennie K. Grammer, Ph.D., Graduate School of Education and Information Studies, University of California, Los Angeles
• Seth M. Holmes, Ph.D., School of Public Health and Medical Anthropology, University of California, Berkeley
• Danya E. Keene, Ph.D., Department of Social Behavioral Sciences, Yale University
• Julie Maslowsky, Ph.D., Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, University of Texas at Austin
• Rashelle Musci, Ph.D., Department of Mental Health, Johns Hopkins University
• Carrie Pettus-Davis, Ph.D., School of Social Work, Washington University in St. Louis
• Kate Phillippo, Ph.D., Department of Cultural and Educational Policy Studies, Loyola University Chicago
• Emily Rauscher, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, University of Kansas
• Awilda Rodriguez, Ph.D., Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education, University of Michigan

Post Categories: