Eleven Finalists Selected for the William T. Grant Scholars Class of 2027

We are pleased to announce the finalists for the William T. Grant Scholars Program class of 2027. Eleven early-career researchers were selected from a pool of applicants after a rigorous review by our staff and Selection Committee.

Fabienne Doucet, the program officer overseeing the program, said, “At such an unsettling time in the world, it is truly heartening to have a cohort of finalists who are so committed to advancing theory, policy, and practice on behalf of young people. These promising early-career researchers are tackling big problems and important questions. We are fortunate to attract such talented scholars, and we congratulate them on this recognition.”

Applicants for the Scholars Program propose five-year research and mentoring plans designed to expand their skills and knowledge. Applicants are nominated by their institutions and only one applicant can be named from any one major division (e.g., College of Arts and Sciences, medical school, etc.). Nominating institutions must formally agree to support the applicant’s research goals with sufficient resources during the grant period, so the nomination reflects the institution’s serious commitment to the applicant and his or her career.

The eleven finalists will be interviewed in February 2022 and four to six Scholars will be announced in March. Selected Scholars will each receive $350,000 over five years and participate in annual meetings. The Scholars Program began in 1982 and has a rich history of supporting the development of early-career researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences.

William T. Grant Scholars Finalists

NaLette Brodnax, Ph.D.
McCourt School of Public Policy, Georgetown University

Siwei Cheng, Ph.D.
Department of Sociology, New York University

Alison Culyba, M.D., Ph.D.
Pediatrics, School of Medicine, University of Pittsburg

Adam Haber, Ph.D.
T. H. Chan School of Public Health, Harvard University

Mariah Kornbluh, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology, University of South Carolina

Gabriela T. Richard, Ph.D.
Department of Learning and Performance Systems, The Pennsylvania State University

Sophia Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Department of Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership, University of Maryland, College Park

Niloufar Salehi, Ph.D.
School of Information, University of California, Berkeley

Theresa Stewart-Ambo, Ph.D.
Department of Education Studies, University of California, San Diego

Abigail Weitzman, Ph.D.
Department of Sociology, University of Texas, Austin

Deadric Williams, Ph.D.
Department of Sociology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Read more about the William T. Grant Scholars Program.

Related content

Subscribe for Updates