Blog Post

Finalists for 2015 William T. Grant Scholars Awards

Ten early-career researchers have been selected from a pool of 64 applicants after a rigorous review by our staff and Selection Committee.

Vivian Tseng, Vice President, Program, said of the finalists, “This year’s cohort demonstrates a tremendous amount of expertise, strength, and disciplinary diversity. The finalists each show great promise for advancing their respective fields in significant ways.”

Applicants for the Scholars Program propose five-year research and mentoring plans designed to expand their skills and knowledge in a new discipline, content area, or method. Applicants are nominated by their institutions and only one applicant can be named from any one major division (e.g., College of Arts and Sciences, medical school, etc.). Nominating institutions must formally agree to support the applicant’s research goals with sufficient resources during the grant period, so the nomination reflects the institution’s serious commitment to the applicant and his or her career.

The 10 finalists will be interviewed in February 2015 and four to six Scholars will be announced in March. Selected Scholars will each receive $350,000 over five years and participate in annual meetings. The Scholars Program began in 1982 and has a rich history of supporting the development of early-career researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences.

The 2015 William T. Grant Scholars Finalists


  • Leah Doane, Department of Psychology, Arizona State University
  • Margaret Frye, Department of Sociology, Princeton University
  • Laura Hamilton, Department of Sociology, University of California, Merced
  • Matthew Kraft, Department of Education, Brown University
  • Amanda Pallais, Department of Economics, Harvard University
  • Parag Pathak, Department of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Elizabeth Pulgaron, Department of Pediatrics, University of Miami
  • Laura Tach, Department of Policy Analysis and Management, Cornell University
  • Eve Tuck, Department of Educational Studies, State University of New York, College at New Paltz
  • Kristin Turney, Department of Sociology, University of California, Irvine

Related content

Subscribe for Updates