Foundation Names Ten William T. Grant Scholars Finalists

The William T. Grant Foundation is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2019 William T. Grant Scholars Program. Ten early-career researchers were selected from a pool of 52 applicants after a rigorous review by our staff and Selection Committee.

Vivian Tseng, senior vice president, program, said of the finalists, “the goal of this program is to support promising early-career researchers, and these ten finalists each show great promise for research careers that will bring rigorous research to bear on the pressing issues facing young people in our country. We congratulate them on this recognition.”

Applicants for the Scholars Program propose five-year research and mentoring plans designed to expand their skills and knowledge. Applicants are nominated by their institutions and only one applicant can be named from any one major division (e.g., College of Arts and Sciences, medical school, etc.). Nominating institutions must formally agree to support the applicant’s research goals with sufficient resources during the grant period, so the nomination reflects the institution’s serious commitment to the applicant and his or her career.

The ten finalists will be interviewed in February 2019 and four to six Scholars will be announced in March. Selected Scholars will each receive $350,000 over five years and participate in annual meetings. The Scholars Program began in 1982 and has a rich history of supporting the development of early-career researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences.

The 2019 William T. Grant Scholars finalists are:

  • Carolyn Barnes, Ph.D., Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University
  • Alex R. Dopp, Ph.D., Department of Psychological Science, University of Arkansas-Fayeteville
  • Anna R. Haskins, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, Cornell University
  • Megan Holland, Ph.D., Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
  • Hosun Kang, Ph.D., School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • Gerald T. Montano DO, MS, Department of Pediatrics, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
  • Ann Owens, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, University of Southern California
  • Annie Ro, Ph.D., Program in Public Health, University of California, Irvine
  • Valerie B. Shapiro, Ph.D., School of Social Welfare, University of California, Berkeley
  • Adela Soliz, Ph.D., Leadership, Policy and Organizations, Vanderbilt University

Related content

Subscribe for Updates